Silverstone – Alonso takes pole

Fernando Alonso has been the stand-out driver of 2012, as the only driver to have won two races thus far. But before yesterday, the Spaniard had not yet secured a pole position this season. That changed in a drenched Silverstone qualifying session.

The rain came down just before the start of Q1, as a result of which drivers queued to get out on track as quickly as possible – fearing that the rain would intensify and the track become slower. As usual, both Caterhams, both Marussias and both HRTs were eliminated in the first session. The big name to fall out in Q1 was Jenson Button, who was on a quick lap towards the end of the session but was the victim of yellow flags in the final sector when a Marussia spun on the start-finish straight.

As if the weekend hadn’t been wet enough already, the rain pelted down in Q2, to the point that several drivers found themselves passengers in aquaplaning cars. With just over six minutes remaining, race control decided that conditions were too wet for the session to continue, and put out the red flag. The session was stopped for over an hour before the track was safe for qualifying to resume, at which point the 17 remaining drivers streamed out to set times in the few remaining minutes of the session. Eliminated in Q2 were di Resta, Kobayashi, Rosberg, Ricciardo, Senna, Vergne and Perez.

Q3 saw laptimes dropping constantly as the track dried out. After pole changed hands almost every lap, Alonso emerged on top ahead of Mark Webber and Michael Schumacher. Vettel, Massa, Raikkonen, Maldonado, Hamilton, Hulkenberg and Grosjean rounded out the top ten. Grosjean had failed to set a time in Q3 after spinning into the gravel right at the end of Q2.

Kobayashi drops 5 places and Vergne 10 after causing collisions at the previous race in Valencia. Hulkenberg and Pic have gearbox penalties and therefore drop 5 places each. In Pic’s case that makes no difference to his grid position, after he did not qualify within 107% of the fastest time in Q1. The stewards have nonetheless allowed Pic to race, and he will start 24th and last.

The provisional grid after penalties is as follows:

Grid No Driver Team
1 5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari
2 2 Mark Webber Red Bull
3 7 Michael Schumacher Mercedes
4 1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
5 6 Felipe Massa Ferrari
6 9 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus
7 18 Pastor Maldonado Williams
8 4 Lewis Hamilton McLaren
9 10 Romain Grosjean Lotus
10 11 Paul di Resta Force India
11 8 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
12 16 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso
13 19 Bruno Senna Williams
14 12 Nico Hulkenberg Force India
15 15 Sergio Perez Sauber
16 3 Jenson Button McLaren
17 14 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber
18 21 Vitaly Petrov Caterham
19 20 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham
20 24 Timo Glock Marussia
21 22 Pedro de la Rosa HRT
22 23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT
23 17 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso
24 25 Charles Pic Marussia

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: