Changes to 2013 calendar

The World Motor Sport Council (WMSC) today announced changes to the 2013 Formula One calendar. The German Grand Prix moves forward by a week to 7 July and 21 July has now been reserved for another European race, although there has been no announcement as to where the additional race will take place.

A race had originally been scheduled for New Jersey on 16 June, but the proposed street circuit event fell through and was removed from the calendar some time ago. The introduction of another European race brings the total number of races back to 20 for next season, as was originally intended.

Although there has not been any confirmation yet, the additional European round is likely to take place in Turkey at Istanbul Park. The Turkish Grand Prix was last held in 2011 and won by Sebastian Vettel.

The 2013 calendar after the changes:

17 March – Australia
24 March – Malaysia
14 April – China
21 April – Bahrain
12 May – Spain
26 May – Monaco
09 June – Canada
30 June – Great Britain
07 July – Germany
21 July – Additional European Race (Venue TBC)
28 July – Hungary
25 August – Belgium
08 September – Italy
22 September – Singapore
06 October – Korea
13 October – Japan
27 October – India
03 November – Abu Dhabi
17 November – USA
24 November – Brazil


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: